Art Journal #21 – Autumn Leaves

It has been almost a month since I got my hands on my craft tools. I have moved from Tennessee to New Jersey and my art and craft stuff were all stacked in boxes and left in the moving company’s trailer. It remained there for 3 weeks until now.

My hands itched to make something and the first thing that crossed my mind were the leaves I collected during my fall foliage trip to upstate New York about two weeks back. Frankly, I’m fascinated by leaves – their colour, shades and shapes make me weak in my knees 😛  I picked up a few of them from the bunch I collected and the layout took shape.

ssn_autumnleaves_3
Few of the leaves I picked..who wouldn’t FALL for all that color and beauty!

Used the usual – acrylics for the background, distress inks along the border to make it vibrant, more stencils from Tim Holtz® (Dot Fade and Flourish) and a script stamp from Kaisercraft®. It was a quick page and I just wrote the quote with a fine tip Sharpie®. Speaking of which, the quote is by Emily Bronte and I could not find another one more apt to the layout!

For some dimension, I used Faber Castell® texture paste for the Dot Fade stencil from Tim Holtz®….now time for a close up!

ssn_autumnleaves_2

Oh yes, also splashed some brown paint in the end. Below is the complete page.

ssn_autumnleaves_1

I think these journals are excellent memory keepers, specially because we can include a thing or two and make them last forever – in this case, the leaves. If I leave it lying around, I’m sure to lose it at some point. But now, its forever (as long as I don’t lose the book! 😛 ) Thanks a lot for stopping by. I enjoyed creating this page and I hope you liked reading through. I am entering this page for the following Challenges:

See ya soon! 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. wendy0322 says:

    Gorgeous leaves and you really captured the texture in your photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vickie Y says:

    Beautiful journal pages; love the quote and the gorgeous leaves! Thank you for sharing with us at The Sisterhood of Crafters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great idea … just beautiful! Glad you’re settled in and back to crafting! Thanks so much for joining us at The Sisterhood’s ‘Pumpkins or the color Orange’ challenge and please come back again soon!
    Darlene
    one of the ‘Sistahs’
    The Sisterhood of Crafters
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS Please come for a visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. meihsialiu says:

    Your journal pages are so beautiful! Love the pretty colors and texture. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Catherine says:

    What a brilliant use for the beautiful leaves.
    Thanks for joining us at Craft your passion challenges this week. Have a good weekend. Happy crafting!
    Catherine X DT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jonevill says:

    So beautiful, I love your leaves.
    Thank you for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge this week !

    Jo x

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for your valuable comment, I really appreciate it! :)

